LDING ADVENTURE

Rules Updates and Frequently Asked Questions
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Rules Updates

Taking an Artifact — In the original rules for
CLANKY, artifacts are acquired as you would any
other token in a room: you choose to pick one up
when you first enter. That rule has been revised:
you choose to take an artifact as an action during
your turn, even if you didn't just enter the artifact’s
room.

Examples: You may enter a room with an artifact
on one turn, then (as long as you're still in that
room) choose to take that artifact on a later turn.
Also, if you're already carrying an artifact, then
enter a Market room that contains another one,
you may first buy a Backpack, then pick up the
artifact.

Frequently Asked Questions

Actions — You may take an action more than once
during your turn, unless otherwise specified by the
rules.

See also Dungeon Row, Market, Secrets.

Arrive — During Setup, if any of the six cards on
the Dungeon Row have Arrive text, carry it out
immediately, before the first player takes a turn.
(In the case of a card like Shrine, which returns
dragon cubes to the bag, there will be no cubes to
return, and the Arrive text will do nothing.)

Artifact — See Market. See Taking an Artifact (in
the Rules Updates section).

Boots — See Movement, Playing Cards, Plus.
Clank! — See Playing Cards, Swagger.

Contract — You may find it helpful to mark the
card you choose with a cube from your supply
(taking the cube back when the Contract no longer

applies).
If there are two or more copies of the same card in

the Dungeon Row, the Contract applies only to the
specific copy chosen by the Omin Dran player.

Countdown Track — The extra cubes marked on
the countdown track apply only to those attacks,
as the player on the Countdown Track advances.
Dragon Attacks triggered by cards in the Dungeon
Row aren't affected by the Countdown Track.

Device — A Device card must be used immediately,
when you acquire it. It is then placed in the
Dungeon discard pile, not your own.

Discarding — You can avoid discarding by waiting
to play a discarding card after you play other cards.
When you do this, you don’t get the benefits of
discarding.

Example: You play four of the five cards in your
hand, then play Sleight of Hand last (“Discard a
card to draw two cards.”). You have no remaining
cards to discard, so you don’t draw two cards.

Many Sunken Treasures cards provide an effect
“when you discard this” You trigger these effects
by discarding the card during your turn. You do
NOT receive these effects at the end of your turn
when you place the card in your discard pile (from
your play area), or when you first acquire the card
using skill.

Example: You play Sleight of Hand (“Discard a
card to draw two cards.”) You discard a Coin
Purse. (“When you discard this, .5..) You draw

e

the two cards from Sleight of Hand, and gain .5,
from Coin Purse.

Dragon Attack — If a Dragon Attack happens early
in the game, players still outside the dungeon can
be damaged if cubes of their color are pulled from
the bag.

See also Countdown Track, Dungeon Row.

Drawing Cards — Whenever you draw a card,
you do so from your own deck, never from the
Dungeon Deck.

Dungeon Deck — See Expansions.




Dungeon Row — You may acquire and defeat any
number of cards in the Dungeon Row each turn,
provided you have enough Skill or Swords.

Do not replace cards in the Dungeon Row as a
player acquires or defeats them. Instead, at the
end of every player’s turn, replace all empty spaces
in the Dungeon Row. This can trigger only one
dragon attack, no matter how many Dragon Attack
symbols are revealed.

Cards with Dragon Attack symbols only trigger an
attack on the turn they’re placed in the Dungeon
Row. If the card remains there for multiple turns, it
does not trigger any additional attacks.

Dwarven Peddler — You must have two different
items to collect the 4 point bonus for this card.
For example: if you have two dragon eggs, but no
chalice or monkey idol, you do not get the points.

Expansions — We recommend that you do not

mix cards from more than one expansion in your
Dungeon Deck at the same time. (The bigger deck
will make it less likely you draw cards related to
the board /expansion you're playing.) However, you
are free to mix as you like.

Each card from a CLANK! expansion can be
identified by a watermark in its game text box. You

may use these to sort and remove cards when you
wish to play without an expansion, or to remove
them while you play as they're revealed.

Sunken Treasures — A pair of waves. (It’s
literally a watermark!)

The Mummy’s Curse — A pyramid.
Fountain of Healing — See Treasure Room.

Health Meter — Each player’s health meter has
spaces to mark 10 damage. The first damage cube
should be placed on the space with the heart icon,
not next to it.

Leaving the Dungeon — Any card that can teleport
you to an “adjacent room” can be used to leave the
dungeon.

Any Clank! you have in the Clank! area remains
there when you leave the dungeon.

You complete your entire turn when you leave the
dungeon; leaving doesn’t have to be the final thing
you do.

Market — Buying from the Market is an action.
Actions aren’t normally limited to once a turn; you
may buy more than one item from the Market if
you wish, including more than one of the same
item. All market items are available from any
Market room.

If there are tokens in a Market (secrets or an
artifact), you do not have to pay to take one.

Mister Whiskers — You may choose the -2 Clank!
option for this card even when you have no Clank!
in the Clank! area.

Monkey Idol — You pick up one Monkey Idol every
time you enter the Monkey Shrine room, even if
you enter it more than once during the same turn.

See also Tokens.

Movement — Every tunnel requires at least one
Boot to move through it. Any icons on a tunnel
note additional requirements to move through it.

See also Plus, Secrets.
The Mummy’s Curse — See Expansions.

Playing Cards — A card provides everything on it
each time you play it: Skill, Swords, Boots, and text.

Any Skill, Swords, or Boots you don't spend during
your turn are wasted. Skill, Swords, and Boots

go into a single “pool”; the resources from one
card can be split up to take two or more different
actions.

You must play all cards in your hand during your
turn. You must also carry out all effects in the text
of each card you play.

Example: Dead Run makes +2 Clank! and says
“You don’t have to stop in Crystal Caves this
turn.” It doesn’t matter whether or not you move
through a Crystal Cave that turn; you still must
add the 2 Clank!

See also Discarding.

Plus — Some cards have a plus sign attached to the
Skill, Swords, or Boots they provide. This is meant
to point you to the card’s text, which may provide
more of the same resource that the card has
already given.

Example: The Mountain King always provides
you one Sword and one Boot when you play
him. In addition, if you have a Crown, his text
provides you a second Sword and Boot.




Secret Tome — When you buy a Secret Tome, place
it in your discard pile, just like all other cards you
acquire. It does nothing when you draw and play it
(though it’s a great card to discard when you need
to, such as for Sleight of Hand).

Secrets — If you enter a room with two minor
secrets, you take one “at random,’ choosing it
before revealing it. Having picked up one secret,
you may then exit and re-enter the room later (on
the same turn or a later turn) to pick up the other
one.

See also Market, Tokens.

Setup — See Arrive.

Skill — See Dungeon Row, Playing Cards, Plus.
Sunken Treasures — See Expansions.

Swagger — This card gives you 1 Skill for each
Clank! you make on your turn, even if you use
negative Clank! to remove it later.

Swords — See Dungeon Row, Playing Cards, Plus.
Teleport — See Leaving the Dungeon.

Tokens — Picking up a token (a secret or a monkey
idol) does not “end” your movement for a turn; if
you still have Boots (or the means to teleport), you
may keep moving. You pick up the token when you
first enter the room. Any other actions you might
choose to take in the room (such as Buying from a
Market) happen afterward.

Treasure Rooms — You gain the reward printed
on a Treasure Room (or Fountain of Healing) every
time you enter it, even if you enter the same room
more than once during the same turn.

Webbed Rooms - If a card allows you take a token
from an adjacent room, you do not need to spend a
Sword if taking one from a webbed room.

Example: Daring Explorer says “You may make
+2 Clank! to take a secret or monkey idol from
an adjacent room.” When you use this to take a
secret or monkey idol from a webbed room, you
spend no Swords.




